Made in Yorkshire

Made in Yorkshire Classic
1964 Cover1964
Richard Warren, aged ten, is growing up in the North Yorkshire village of Ledder Bridge. Through verdant fields and meandering brooks, life is simple and easy, far from the turmoil of the Cold War world. When an adventure with his older brother Peter Warren goes wrong and Richard finds himself trapped in the dark depths of an abandoned quarry, it kick-starts a chain of events that brings him into contact with work, family conflict, and the dreaded English class system. Will Richard be able to persevere and become wise well beyond his tender years?




1969 Cover1969
Almost five years on and fifteen-year-old Richard Warren is building a fledging career as a young author. With his schooling done and a bitter unwillingness to take over the family farm, he begrudgingly accepts a job at the local newspaper, the Ripon Chronicle. His time as an apprentice takes him outside the bounds of Yorkshire for the first time and he comes into contact with the fanatical Black Liberation Division anarchist group in London. For the first time in his life, Richard wrestles with independence and first love. But just who is that old face watching him from close by?
1972 Cover1972
Richard Warren, now eighteen, takes his first steps into adulthood. Following his return from London, his parents have booted him out of the nest and he’s on the road. As the era of glam rock descends upon Britain, Richard is back working at the Ripon Chronicle. With his first love back from London, Richard must contend with a rising career as a journalist that takes him up to Newcastle and down to London, along with old enemies and the new girl on the scene, Jessica Deakins. And what’s going to happen when the true face of the ever-present Officer Hardy adds to a toxic mix of ambition, love, and corruption at the heart of British politics?
1973 Cover1973
Twenty-year-old Richard Warren is on the cusp of success. As one of Britain Today’s leading young political journalists, power and influence is his. Under the shadow of increasing violence between the IRA in Ireland and the Cod Wars in Icelandic waters, Richard has stepped onto foundations built from sand. With success in his grip, the newly promoted Chief Constable of Newcastle has his claws locked on Richard’s neck. When family pressures back home in Ledder Bridge appear on the horizon, Richard is trapped between the wants of those above and the needs of those closest to him. Will Richard be able to walk this line or is this one year too long?


1976 Cover1976
Britain is booming as the seventies roll on. None of this matters to twenty-three-year-old Richard Warren, who is half way through a five-year prison sentence. Embittered and angry, Richard just wants to make it out alive. But when London gangster Scotty Weston ropes him into an escape attempt, he must use all his skills to keep himself from the beady eyes of chief warden Mr. Carewood. With razor blades and the nosy psychiatrist Doctor Jason Appleford baying for him, can Richard escape back into the real world and pick up the pieces of his shattered life?
1981 Cover1981
Twenty-seven-year-old Richard Warren lives in Mayfair on the most prestigious street in London. Reunited with his brother Peter Warren, the Warren brothers have it all. But all this is about to change when the Metropolitan Police begin to crack down on London gangster Scotty Weston’s operations. Thatcherism weighs down heavily upon Britain and unemployment reaches record levels. Richard’s life is out of control and destitution is the order of the day. Homeless and lost, Richard realises all he has left is his brother and ex-fiancée Jessica Deakins in Newcastle. Does Richard still have the knack to get back up or will London’s underground community of down-and-outs drag him down to their gloomy depths?
1984 Cover
Richard Warren has turned thirty. Twenty years on from the beginnings of a strange and wonderful tale and he finds himself with a family in Yorkshire again. Far away from the dark depravity of life in London, Richard is only now beginning to retake the reins of a normal life.
But as the miner’s strike rears its head, enemies from the past return to haunt Richard one last time. His brother Peter launches himself into the action for the ultimate showdown between the traditional working classes and the establishment. Whilst Richard does his best to stick to his novel writing and cultivating a relationship with his son Jack, the gruelling stalemate gradually drags him back into a world he thought he’d escaped.
With a family under threat from all sides, Richard must put aside his desires for a quiet life in Yorkshire. But if he is to triumph this time, he might have to give up one of the most precious things he has left.
Between the Years CoverBetween the Years
Five short stories taking place between the main Made in Yorkshire Classic novels:
1967 – A Friend from Liverpool
1971 – Backpacking with the Past
1973 – An Old Wound
1973 – Why Do You Ask Me These Things
1974 – Welcome to Pentonville
1980 – Learning to Drive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  • Share this with your friends